Oregon would have likely joined Colorado and Washington to become one of the first states to legalize recreational use of marijuana if the ballot resolution hadn’t included a rambling “High Times” preamble that included references to George Washington growing hemp. In 1972, it became the first state to decriminalize cannabis. The penalities were reduced in 1995. You’ll pay $1,000 if caught with less than an ounce — however, you could do 30 days in jail if you’re within 1,000 feet of a school. Sale of less than five grams is also only considered a violation, with a $1,000 fine and no jail time if caught.
Copyright 2013 The National Memo