The National  Memo Logo

Smart. Sharp. Funny. Fearless.

Monday, December 09, 2019 {{ new Date().getDay() }}

GENEVA (AFP) – A Congolese nun who has dedicated herself to helping women who have escaped cruelty at the hands of Ugandan rebels has won the annual Nansen prize awarded by the UNHCR, the refugee agency announced Tuesday.

Sister Angelique Namaika receives the $100,000 (75,000 euro) UN prize named after the late Norwegian polar explorer Fridtjof Nansen, who was the first League of Nations High Commissioner for Refugees and the 1922 Nobel Peace Prize laureate.

A member of the Augustinian religious order of Catholics, she has dedicated herself to helping women who escaped extreme cruelty at the hands of Ugandan rebel movement the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA).

She works in a remote northeast region of the Democratic Republic of Congo and through her Centre for Reintegration and Development, “has helped transform the lives of more than 2,000 women and girls who have been forced from their homes and abused, mainly by the LRA,” the UN refugee agency said in a statement.

“Her one-on-one approach helps them recover from the trauma and damage. On top of the abuse they have suffered, these vulnerable women and girls are often ostracised by their own families and communities because of their ordeal,” it added.

UN High Commissioner for Refugees Antonio Guterres commended the 2013 laureate: “The challenges are massive, which makes her work all the more remarkable — she doesn’t allow anything to stand in her way.”

The Lord’s Resistance Army has waged a guerrilla campaign in Uganda since 1987.

Since 2008, an estimated 320,000 people have been forced to flee in DR Congo’s north-eastern province of Orientale, including Sister Angelique herself.

She was born in the village of Kembisa, in the DR Congo’s northeastern Orientale Province, to a farming family of Christians.

She will receive her prize at a ceremony in Geneva on September 30.

Sister Angelique will then travel to Rome where she will meet Pope Francis before taking part in meetings in Paris, Brussels and Oslo.

Instituted in 1954, the Nansen Refugee Award is given annually to an individual or organisation in recognition of dedicated service to refugees and is the most prestigious honor conferred by UN High Commissioner for Refugees.


Start your day with National Memo Newsletter

Know first.

The opinions that matter. Delivered to your inbox every morning

MAGA Children's Books

The GOP descent into full-blown conspiracy and fascist hell has not gone unnoticed as of late. With the right-wing dominated Supreme Court poised to finally overturn Roe V Wade and 2022 races focusing on backing Republicans who support Trump's 2020 election lies, democracy and decency are all but dead and Democrats are going to have to turn out big in the midterms to prevent a GOP takeover over the House or Senate.

But while the focus of progressive ire has been over the GOP's assault on reproductive rights, Republicans have also been waging a war on facts and education quite well. After all, they need their voters nice and ignorant to remain in power. Book banning and, sickeningly, book burning is a thing for the GOP in the year 2022. The state of Tennessee, for example, is banning books. In fact, a psychotic trump zealot pastor led an actual book-burning event.

Keep reading... Show less

Pat McCrory

Youtube Screenshot

If former North Carolina Gov. Pat McCrory is any indication, the GOP primary wounds wrought in the last several months stand a good chance of bleeding into the general election this fall.

McCrory, who lost his bid Tuesday to become the Republican nominee for the Tar Heel State's open Senate seat, declined to endorse his GOP rival, Rep. Ted Budd, the Trump endorsee.

Keep reading... Show less
{{ }}