The National  Memo Logo

Smart. Sharp. Funny. Fearless.

Monday, December 09, 2019 {{ new Date().getDay() }}

Senators Tim Scott (R-SC) and Lindsey Graham (R-SC) have been re-elected in South Carolina. The Associated Press called both races minutes after polls closed.

Graham defeated Democrat Brad Hutto to win a third term. Scott, who defeated Democrat Joyce Dickerson, became the first black man to be elected senator by popular vote in the South.

Governor Nikki Haley, also a Republican, defeated Democrat Vince Sheheen to win a second term.

Photo: Secretary of Defense via Flickr

This breaking news story will be updated.

Start your day with National Memo Newsletter

Know first.

The opinions that matter. Delivered to your inbox every morning